Why does the main light always seem to be on camera left?

I did another group shoot last night (with a different model this time).  The shoot went well, and I ended up with a number of nice images.  I am starting t wonder why I see so many situations where the main light is on camera-left (model’s right).  Is that because so many women favor their left side and this allows them to look into the main light (with the beautiful effect that gives) and show their “best side” to the camera?  I have to learn more….

Why is the main light always on the left?

Why is the main light always on the left?

This image passed through Lightroom (minimal adjustment, just a square crop), then through Portrait Professional 10 to even the color in the skin.  Here is the lighting setup for this shoot:

Lighting Setup

Lighting Setup

One thought on “Why does the main light always seem to be on camera left?

  1. With the light on the left, the model has to face into the light slightly. which means they tilt left more. Which sets their eye more to “the right” of the picture, at least in flow. Which I think provokes a “mirroring” reaction in the man, triggering his right eye more… which triggers the left side of his brain more, which has more to do with emotions.
    So it triggers a more emotional response.

    How about that for far-strung theories? 🙂

    But I think it does match up:

    women teasing left, are more… umm.. “emotionally” *cough* appealing, whereas a woman facing more right, seems more logical.. “cute” vs sexy…
    That’s how I see it, anyways

Leave a comment